Justin Jefferson Named NFL MVP and OPOY Finalist

Photo: David Berding - Getty Images

The last non-quarterback to win NFL Most Valuable Player played for the Minnesota Vikings. It was Adrian Peterson back in 2012. This year, Justin Jefferson, is trying to buck the QB MVP trend again.

On Wednesday morning, the NFL announced the finalists for their Associated Press end of the year awards and JJ was named as one of five finalists for MVP. The other four, of course, are quarterbacks.

Justin Jefferson Looking for Hardware

It’s very unlikely Jefferson pulls off an upset but it isn’t MVP or bust for Jefferson. He was also named as one of four finalists for Offensive Player of the Year, an award he has a much better shot at winning.

In recent years, the OPOY award has been handed down to the best offensive player who doesn’t play QB. That list includes wide receivers Cooper Kupp last season and Michael Thomas in 2019. JJ has been an OPOY favorite for months.

And he deserves it, given the insane numbers he posted (128 REC, 1,889 YDS, 8 TD).

Eric Strack | Minnesota Sports Fan

Mentioned in this article:

More About: